Infection Prevention 2019

12th Annual Conference

Key Speakers

Honoured Eponymous Lectures

E.M. Cottrell Lecture

In 1959 Miss E.M. Cottrell was appointed as the first ‘whole-time infection sister’ at Torbay Hospital. Now each year at the Infection Prevention Annual Conference the eponymous E.M. Cottrell Lecture is dedicated to her work. Essentially all those attending this conference, and all those working in the related scientific fields, owe something to this pioneer who started infection prevention and control without any books, scientific literature or a professional society replete with colleagues deticated to education, sharing expertise and preventing avoidable infections.

Ayliffe Lecture

Professor Graham Ayliffe was a pioneer of infection control in the UK. Amongst his highly-recognised work was the description of the optimum 6 stage handwashing technique which has been widely adopted by healthcare workers around the world. Professor Ayliffe was an early patron of the original Infection Control Nurses Association (now the Infection Prevention Society) and the Ayliffe Lecture was introduced as a way of marking his unstinting support of the IPS. He was the first recipient of the IPS Life Time Achievement award in 2016.


Platinum Sponsor

Website Sponsor

Supported By