Awards and Grants

Awards and Grants

Members of IPS are eligible to apply for a variety of awards and grants.  These awards can be to help further education and development or to recognise particular achievements. 

Impact Awards | Brendan Moore Award | Ayliffe Lifetime Achievement Award |IPS Research/Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Grants 2023/2024| Educational Grants for IPS Members Undertaking Specialist Courses in IPC |

The IPS Impact Awards programme aims to recognise and celebrate initiatives undertaken that demonstrate excellence, innovation or improvement in infection prevention and control (IPC) practice, service delivery or education.

The IPS is delighted to announce the 2023 Impact Award winners are:

IPS Award for Excellence

This award recognises members who are aiming for and achieving the best in IPC practice or education.

  • GOLD: The Infection Prevention & Control Service – Wirral Community Health & Care Foundation Trust, The Health Protection Service – Wirral Council, and Kelly Alexander - Antimicrobial Stewardship Lead Pharmacist – Wirral Place
  • JOINT SILVER: Infection Prevention & Control, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • JOINT SILVER: Association for the Prevention and Control of Infections (APCI)


IPS Award for Patient Experience

This award recognises members who are Putting the patient at the centre of IPC practice.

  • JOINT GOLD: Mrs Amy Boden, Mr Garry Perry, Ms Charlotte Yale
  • JOINT GOLD: Vascular Access Improvement Group, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust
  • SILVER: Infection Prevention and Control Team, Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust


IPS Award for Nurturing IPC talent

This award recognises members who are Supporting the development of the IPC workforce of the future

  • GOLD: Heidi Treleaven, Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust
  • SILVER: East Sussex County Council Health Protection Team, Public Health
  • BRONZE: Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS foundation Trust - Infection prevention and Control Care home Team

Congratulations to all our winners

Thank you to those who nominated colleagues and participated in the judging process.



Brendan Moore Award


Brendan Moore was an epidemiologist who had the insight to appoint the first infection control nurse in 1959.  Dr Moore was instrumental in the first Infection Control Nurses Association (ICNA) conference in 1970 and the first ICNA President.


The Brendan Moore award is bestowed on an individual who, in the opinion of the IPS Honours Committee, meets the criteria laid down 


  • The person is a current member of the Society 
  • The person has made a significant contribution to furthering the aims and goals of the organisation 
  • The person has made this contribution while in an official position or closely involved with the work of the Society 
  • The person cannot be a current Trustee or Management Executive Group (MEG) member of the Society

2023 Winner

Congratulations to our 2023 winner, Tracey Gauci.

Honorary Membership Award


The award for an honorary membership entitles the recipient to life-long membership of the Society at no cost to the individual.  This level of membership is equivalent to a full member.


Honorary Membership is awarded to an individual who, in the opinion of the IPS Honours Committee, meets the criteria to be honoured with this prestigious category of membership 


  • Has carried out a significant role/roles on a voluntary basis for the benefit of the whole membership 
  • Made a significant contribution to furthering the aims and goals of the Society 
  • Has furthered the aims and goals of the organisation through significant input to national groups and committees on behalf of the Society over the course of their career. 
  • The person cannot be a current Trustee or Management Executive Group (MEG) member of the Society

2023 Winner

Congratulations to our 2023 winners, Elaine Ross and Ramona Marincas.

Ayliffe Award


Professor Graham Ayliffe (1926-2017) was a medical microbiologist. He studied medicine at Bristol University and was awarded an MD in 1963. In 1964 he joined the team at the Hospital Infection Research Laboratory, Birmingham in what is now known as the City Hospital. Professor Ayliffe published several books on the practical application of infection prevention and control. He was instrumental in the development of the 6-step hand hygiene technique, used by many UK hospitals and endorsed by the World Health Organisation in 2009. He was always supportive of the Infection Prevention Society (IPS) and the former Infection Control Nurses Association (ICNA).

In 2016, the IPS Board agreed to develop a lifetime achievement award and to name this the Ayliffe Award, this was awarded to Professor Graham Ayliffe the same year.


The Ayliffe award is bestowed on an individual who, at the discretion of the Honours Committee, meets the criteria laid down


The person (not necessarily an IPS member) who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of Infection Prevention and Control during their career


This award is not part of the 'annual' programme and therefore it is not expected that this award will be made annually but only in exceptional circumstances.

2023 Winner

Congratulations to Martin Kiernan.

IPS Research/Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Grants 2023/2024

The IPS R&D Committee are delighted to announce the re-launch of the Research/Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Grants 2023/2024.

The Grants play a pivotal role in the realisation of three key elements of the IPS Research Strategy to: 

  • generate high quality research and quality improvement projects (QIP) for practice;
  • engage in collaborative research with academic and clinical partners;
  • develop research and QIP capability and capacity among its members;

The aim of IPS Research Grants is to support high quality practice-based research and QIPs within the field of infection prevention and control (IPC).  A pool of up to £11,000 per annum is available to the IPS R&D committee to support small research grants.  Applications are encouraged from Infection Prevention Society members at all career stages, ‘novice’ (includes undergraduate and MSc students) researchers without previous experience may apply provided an experienced research supervisor is named in the application.

For an application pack CLICK HERE

Applications must be submitted to Fitwise by midday January 19th 2024. Applications received after this deadline will not be considered. 
Applicants should send a signed electronic copy of the application to Lynne Duncan, IPS PA at

The IPS R&D Committee hosted a webinar on 15th December 2023 to provide an overview of the IPS Research/Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Grants 2023/2024 process and discuss the application form, followed by a Q&A session. You can watch the webinar here:

Educational Grants for IPS Members Undertaking Specialist Courses in IPC

Where funds allow IPS aims to fund 5 grants  per year of up to £1500 pa for up to 2 years. This amount must be matched by the applicant or the applicant’s employer. A further year (year 3) may also be funded of up to £1000pa. Again this must be matched by the applicant/applicant’s employer. Applications will be yearly in Jan/Feb time with decisions in May/June. The award is open to full members only. 

There is no funding currently available for 2023 - please check for updates or email